Search

Driving Safety Course

DRIVING SAFETY COURSE: 

Defensive Driving - Driving Safety Course 
Certain offenses and CDL (Commercial Driver's License) holders may not qualify for this option.

Available Courses 
•  Defensive Driving/Driving Safety Course
•  Motorcycle Operator's Training Course
•  Seat Belt Safety Course

Fees, Fines & Course Costs 

Pursuant to Chapter 45 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, a defendant may complete a driving safety course for an offense involving the operation of a motor vehicle. However, the completion of a driving safety course is not allowed for defendants cited while operating a 
commercial vehicle or if they hold a commercial driver's license. A defendant is required to pay the necessary costs associated with the driving safety course. Defendants issued citations while operating motorcycle qualify for deferred disposition if they successfully complete a motorcycle operator training course. Also, defendants issued a citation for failing to wear a seat belt or failing to have a passenger or child in a safety seat or seat belt can also complete a seat belt safety course to have a citation omitted from their driving record. 

Requesting a Driving Safety Course 

Any person under the age of 25 shall be required to complete a driver's safety course pursuant to Article 45.051 (b-1) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. The request to take a driving safety course must be made prior to the expiration of the 21 day period allowed to appear on your citation. The request must be made in person or in writing. Payment of the State Costs and Administrative fees (call for amount due) should be submitted with your request. 

COURSE ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS: 

Any person under the age of 25 shall be required to complete a driver's safety course pursuant to Article 45.051 (b-1) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

The request to take a driving safety course must be made prior to the expiration of the 21 day period allowed to appear on your citation. The request must be made in person or in writing. Payment of the State Costs and Administrative fees (call for amount due) should be submitted with your request. Defendants issued citations for seat belt violations or while operation a motorcycle must also complete the written request for Driving Safety Course.

Driving Safety Course Eligibility

You are eligible to request this course if you:
1. Have not requested and taken a driving safety course for a traffic offense within the last 12 months;
2. Are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation;
3. Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph over the speed limit; and
4. Have not committed one of the following offenses:
Failure to give information at accident scene
Leaving scene of accident
Fleeing or attempting to elude police officer
Reckless driving
Passing a school bus
A serious traffic violation as defined under Chapter 522, Transportation Code, which applies to drivers with commercial driver's licenses
Not in Construction Zone with workers present

Requirements if Determined Eligible

You may request this option, by phone, mail or in person before the court within the 21 calendar days from the date cited.

You must provide the following:
1.  You must enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere/no contest and  swear on affidavit that you are not currently taking a driving safety course and that you have not taken a driving safety course within the last 12 months.
2. You must pay the State Costs and Administrative Fees (call for amount due); fee is due at time of request.
3. Submit a copy of Valid Texas Driver's License.
4. Submit a copy of Proof of Insurance.

In the event that you make a request to take the driving safety course and are approved and the above has been provided to the court, your case will be postponed for 90 days to allow you time to complete the course. The driving safety course you attend must be one that is approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator's course that is approved by the Department of Public Safety. Once you have completed the driving safety course you are to submit to the court the completed certificate signed by you, provided you completed the course within the time limit required. Along with a 3A certified copy of your Driving Record, which can be obtained from Austin (www.texas.gov).

COMPLIANCE: 

Show-Cause Docket 

If you fail to comply with any conditions, you will be scheduled on the "show cause" docket and will have to appear in Court to discuss your case with the Judge. 

If You Do Not Appear

However, if you do not appear at this hearing, a final judgment of guilty will be entered. Without further notice a capias pro fine warrant for your arrest may be issued immediately. The guilty conviction will be reported to the Department of Public Safety and will appear on your driving and/or criminal record and may result in the assessment on your driver's license of a surcharge under the Driver Responsibility Program. Those under the age of 25 could have their licenses suspended by the state. 

























© Willow Park | All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy | Powered by CivicLive.com