Search

Z.C. Baker

Z. C. Baker (1935/36)
at his Civilian Conservation Corps camp.
ZC Baker

Zayus Claude Baker and wife Ray (Morrison) met in Graham, Texas and were married in the Weatherford Church of God. They moved to Willow Park in 1967 when Ranch House Road was still a dirt road that quit at that quit at a post not far from here. Z.C. was born in the Zion Hill area and attended Dicey School. Every summer he bailed hay on the banks of the Clear Fork where Lake Weatherford now lies.

In 1935/36 he served in FDR's Civilian Conservation Corps as a local experience man who operated a bull-dozer to built tanks. When Z.C. and Ray built their home in 1967 it was the first "all-electric" home in the City. It still overlooks what was then known as Rattlesnake Gulch, and often they would watch the rattlesnake hunters spray gas into the canyons and catch the snakes as they slithered out for fresh air. The snakes fangs were then milked for venom.

Z.C. served the City as a mayor, commissioner, and later - building inspector for many years. They still live in the home they built on Hilltop Ct with their cat Morris.

(Personal Interview with Z.C. and Ray Baker February 13, 2001)


© Willow Park | All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy | Powered by CivicLive.com